North West Neonatal Operational Delivery Network Board

The NWNODN Board is a strategic group of executive and other senior personnel with interest and expertise in the NWNODN’s aims, outcomes and development. The Board consists of Executive representatives able to authorise plans and commit resources on behalf of their organisations. Collectively they provide clear direction and leadership for NWNODN team.

ODN Board members are chosen to represent their particular group of organisations (e.g. provider, commissioner) on behalf of the patient pathway, to facilitate improved service delivery and outcomes on behalf of service users.

The primary concern of the NWNODN Board is to facilitate, through ODN activity, high quality individualised care for patients requiring neonatal services. It identifies and monitors strategic aims, aligns service development to national and local priorities and ensures the identification of future needs to maintain and improve patient access and equity of service delivery to the required standards.

The ODN Board meets every six moths and receives formal reports from the NWNODN team regarding progress of work plans and identification of network risks. It receives benchmark and exception reports, making recommendations for remedial action to alleviate quality or capacity risks as required.

Membership of NWNODN Board


North West Neonatal Operational Delivery Network Board Membership


CEO member independent provider (Chair) Neil Thwaite
Host organisation CEO Louise Shepherd
Host organisation Chief Operating Officer Dani Jones
ODN Director Louise Weaver-Lowe
NHS England Specialised Commissioning Abby Peters
NHS England Specialised Commissioning Andrew Bibby
NWAS Shahid Ali
Transport Service – Connect NW Ian Dady
Lancashire &

South Cumbria

Greater Manchester Cheshire & Merseyside
ODN Network Leads Dr Richa Gupta Dr Ajit Mahaveer Dr Nim Subhedar
ODN Network Lead Nurse Catherine Nash Karen Mainwaring Kelly Harvey
Neonatal CRG Dr Ngozi Edi-Osagie
Acute Trust CEO Kevin McGee Sir Mike Deegan Kathryn Thompson


Director for Strategic Clinical Networks & Senate Jan Vaughan Julie Cheetham Jan Vaughan
CCG representative(s) Julia Westway To be confirmed To be confirmed
Patient representative(s) PAG members

NWNODN Governance Structure